First International Workshop on

FPGAs for Aerospace Applications (FASA 2014)


September 5, 2014, Munich, Germany


co-located with

International Conference on Field Programmable Logic and Applications (FPL)





September 5th, 2014



9:00 Session I


A Fault injection technique oriented to SRAM-FPGAs.

Hipolito Guzman, Javier Barrientos and Miguel Aguirre. 


Brazilian Nano-satellite with Reconfigurable SOC GNSS Receiver Tracking capability

Glauberto Leilson Alves de Albuquerque and Carlos Valderrama Sakuyama


Using C-Slow Retiming in Safety Critical and Low Power Applications

Tobias Strauch.         


Radiation effects on 65nm flash-based field programmable gate array     

Jih-Jong Wang.



10:30-11:00 Coffee-Break


11:00 Session II


Improving the Implementation of EDAC Functions in Radiation-Hardened FPGAs

Luis Entrena, Carlos Colodro-Conde and Rafael Toledo-Moreo.  Defect-Tolerant


Fault Injection System for Measuring Soft Processor Design Sensitivity on Virtex-5 FPGAs

Nathan Harward, Michael Gardiner, Luke Hsiao and Michael Wirthlin


A Power-Aware Adaptive FDIR Framework using Heterogeneous System-on-chip Modules

Shane Fleming, Felix Winterstein and David Thomas.     


Hybrid Configuration Scrubbing for Xilinx Series-7 FPGAs     

Alex Harding and Mike Wirthlin


12:30 Lunch break


14:00 Session III


Overview and Investigation of SEU Detection and Recovery Approaches for FPGA-based Heterogeneous Systems

Ediz Cetin, Oliver Diessel, Tuo Li, Jude Ambrose, Thomas Fisk, Sri Parameswaran and Andrew Dempster.


Mitigating Soft Errors in Processors Cores Embedded in System-on Programmable-Chips
Massimo Violante and Stefano Esposito


Tuning Software-based Fault-tolerance Techniques for Soft-core Processors Eduardo Chielle, Fernanda Kastensmidt and Sergio Cuenca-Asensi.


Fault-Tolerant Manager Core for Dynamic Partial Reconfiguration in FPGAs

Lucas Antunes Tambara, Jimmy Tarrillo, Fernanda Lima Kastensmidt and Luca Sterpone.       


15:30h Coffee-break


16:00h Demo Sessions


17:00h End of Workshop









General co-chairs:


Fernanda Lima Kastensmidt

(UFRGS, Brazil)

Paolo Rech

(UFRGS, Brazil)

Program Committee

David Merodio

(ESA, Netherlands)

Luca Sterpone
(Politecnico di Torino, Italy)

Luis Entrena

(Universidad Carlos III, Spain)

Miguel Aguirre
(Universidad de Sevilla, Spain)

Mike Wirthlin


Raoul Velazco

(Tima Laboratory, France)